Kane and Abel series

Shall We Tell the President?
Kane and Abel
The Prodigal Daughter

The Prison diaries

1. Hell – Belmarsh (2002)
2. Purgatory – Wayland (2003)
3. Heaven – North Sea Camp (2004)


Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less (1976)
Shall We Tell the President? (1977)
First Among Equals (1984)
A Matter of Honour (1986)
As the Crow Flies (1991)
Honour Among Thieves (1993)
The Fourth Estate (1996)
The Eleventh Commandment (1998)
Sons of Fortune (2002)
False Impression (2005)
A Prisoner of Birth (2008)
Paths of Glory (2009)
Heads You Win (2017)

Short stories and collections

A Quiver Full of Arrows (1980)
A Twist in the Tale (1988)
Twelve Red Herrings (1994)
The Collected Short Stories (1997)
To Cut a Long Story Short (2000)
Cat O’Nine Tales (2006)
And Thereby Hangs a Tale (2010)
The New Collected Short Stories (2011)
The Jeffrey Archer Short Story Challenge Collection Editor, Contributor (2013)
It Can’t Be October Already (2017) Single short story
Tell Tale (2017)

Children’s books

The First Miracle (1980)
By Royal Appointment (1980)
Willy Visits the Square World (1980)
Willy and the Killer Kipper (1981)

The Clifton Chronicles

Only Time Will Tell (2011)
The Sins of the Father (2012)
Best Kept Secret (2013)
Be Careful What You Wish For (2014)
Mightier Than the Sword (2015)
Cometh the Hour (2016)
This was a man (2016)